Metal Monday

4.8.2024

Youtube Obsession

Did you know that Macaulay Culkin is now a regular contributor at Red Letter Media? No? Me neither. Anyway, here is really good re:View of Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure.

I remember internet movie-nerd culture in the early 2000’s; Mostly blogs, short articles and maybe a 5minute QuickTime video review on someone’s MySpace. Then came Red Letter Media’s reviews of the Phantom Menace in 2009 and changed media forever.

Look at that video quality lol

The videos may seem quaint and outdated now (definitely a few off color jokes I doubt they’d make these days), but there was no one doing long-form multi-part video reviews before this.

Watching

Night of the Demons from 1988 is a deeply horny movie. It is essentially Evil Dead with more titties and great make-up effects. I highly recommend.

Godzilla x Kong was what I expected and really not much more. A lot of greenscreen exposition while computer models bash into each other. The first Godzilla fight is rad but after that all the kaiju just lose any sense of scale.

BUT before GxK I saw the trailer for Furiosa again and this time….

Did you catch the music motif throughout the trailer?

This has me full on hard for Furiosa now for….reasons. Try to follow me:

The Midge Ure version of The Man Who Sold the World is featured prominently in Metal Gear Solid V an game directed by Hideo Kojima.

Still with me? Well guess who is featured in the new game directed by Hideo Kojima? Rodger Miller: The director of Mad Max franchise and Furiosa.

It may seem like a really dumb reason to get excited about a movie I was formally “meh” on. But hey, I can fangirl out if I want to!

Reading

Are we ever able to truly disconnect how we perceive ourselves from how believe we are perceived by others? This is the question at the center of the horror in Emmanuel Carrère’s The Moustache.

A man shaves the moustache he has had for years and no one notices. Carrère uses all 180 pages to weave a tight, narcissistic fever-dream filled with paranoia and a deep unknowable horror. A philosophical horror that has me questioning my own interpretation of reality and my self-perception.

I’ve never seen the movie, but the DVD cover looks goofy af. The French lol

Playing

Sadly, Single Player Tarkov had a recent update so of course I am addicted again. Away just long enough for me to want to grind again and to lose some keyboard muscle memory. It’s becoming obvious that like Metal Gear Solid V, SPT is becoming my “forever game”; I will probably never uninstall it.

Other Notables

**A very good vent. Straight cis-men appropriating hallmarks of queer fashion and the general dismal state of men’s fashion is a very personal resentment of mine. Also, men’s fashion is bad if you’re not 6’2” with an 18” waist.

**Another good dam clip