Metal Monday

11.6.2023

It’s a short week as I have been so busy at my day job and playing Escape from Tarkov obsessively again. I’ll be back next week with a FULL list of recommendations next week! Love you *MUAH* ;3

YouTube Obsession

I have no idea what the current popular opinions are on Adam Sessler and the shit he says but X-Play was a cornerstone 2000’s gaming culture and news. For the first time I could see Fight Club: The Game running in 4:3 140p no less!

Anyway, someone was mad enough to to compile 12 hours of full episodes.

As a bonus, the included commercial breaks are really a peek into the wasteland of daytime cable TV commercials; ITT.Tech, J.G. Wentworth and Mathew Lesko. Absolutely fascinating.

Watching

My partner has never been properly introduced to John Woo. Last night we amended that by watching (a perfect companion piece to Hardcore Henry tbh) Hardboiled.

What I love about this movie is that everything you see, the sets, the people, the props, they all exist to be shot and explode. Sometimes they explode twice. Guns get shot, by other guns in this movie. Even bullets, themselves, get shot, by other bullets. It’s brilliant, it’s 90s af and Chow Yun-fat is the coolest jazz-musician-turned-hard-boiled-cop ever.

One of the few movies to earn it’s 2 hour+ run-time because the action does not let up. It’s free, so there’s no reason you haven’t seen this.

OTHER

My mind is just running wild imagining one of Jeff Dunham’s puppets saying something cancellable lol lmao

Thanks to Andrew over at Adjei Breakfast for sending me down a Las Vegas residency rabbit hole.