Metal Monday

Notes from a Hurriquake 2023™ Survivor

It was a pretty standard week all said; work, meetings, gym, hurricane, earthquake, bike ride- wait, whaaaa?!?!

That’s right, if you were in SoCal the past week no doubt your news feed has been filled with news about hurricane Hilary and how it will affect YOU. My eyes were rolling at most of the over sensational coverage Hilary received, but hey, different weather in SoCal? That’s news Baby! In actuality, it rained, even poured at times but that was the most I saw of any “Hilary fallout”.

BUT then the EaRthQUakE! struck! And I felt none of it.

Already dubbed Hurriquake 2023™, things are getting pretty biblical in SoCal; wildfires, hurricanes, earthquakes. All that’s left is for bears to come down from the mountains and eat our children.

YouTube Obsession

When I look for a good YouTube reviewer, agreeing with the reviewer is rarely my priority. It’s simple actually: Just be entertaining.

E.J. delivers Latin queer sass and charisma in boatloads. (I’ll even forgive his collection of horrid funko pops in the background) My partner and I have been starting every sentence with “Para me?” for a week now.

Watching

If anyone knows me, I’m always asking: What happened to ‘buns’ in movies? It used to be Good Morning America and Late Night Show fodder for weeks when Mel Gibson or Kevin Costner showed butt in a movie. But the buns have slowly gone away as the Marvel system of pumping out puritanical, easily digestible and inoffensive movies has grown only more popular.

But in Red, White and Royal Blue, the buns are back baby!

Not only buns but there is some pretty heavy sexual innuendo all throughout. Where marvel can’t even imagine it’s characters as adults with sexual desire, RW&RB has a full-on, please-go-in-slow, wow-you’re-really-tight gay sex scene. Honestly, kudos. Not that sex is the main focus of the movie but it is refreshing to see queer sex depicted as hetero-sex would be in a straight-cis romantic comedy.

And that’s what it is: A run of the mill, romantic comedy that has two gay dudes as the leads. Great! We deserve Hallmark level syrupy bullshit too!

If I wanted to be the queer with a brand and stay on message I could probably knock this movie for a many various and sundry harms and misrepresentations toward the community. But honestly, it would be a waste of time to give more energy to this movie than I would give a Vanessa Hudgens Netflix Christmas movie. At least those movies have the wherewithal to keep a romantic comedy under 2 hours.

It’s fun, it’s cute and it’s a great way to spend a rainy afternoon surviving natural disasters.

Anything else?

I’m Still reading The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie and I’m still addicted to playing the single player mod for Escape from Tarkov.

Enjoy the rest of your week y’all!