Halloween Madness

10.31.2023

It’s officially spooky.

Have a happy Halloween!

YouTube Obsession

Volleyball? Rad.

Hacky Sack? Less rad.

Bicycle kicks? Extremely rad.

Mix them all together and you get Sepak Takraw. The quick pitch is: What if you couldn’t use your hands to play volleyball? It’d be sick as hell that’s what.

The mixture of the fast-pace, otherworldly flexibility of the athletes, bicycle kicks every volley and the overall “good vibes” of the players has me obsessed. I’m not going to sign up for tournaments anytime soon but if I had a 16 hour flight to Beijing I would watch this over the latest Pixar movie. In a fight between foreign sports I don’t fully understand like Cricket, Jai Alai, Soccer and Hockey; Sepak Takraw wins handily. I am fully convinced if this game was around the ancient Geeks there would be way more wicked statues of folks doing gnarly bicycle kicks.

Watching

Sometimes the people you trust hurt you by slandering a super cool and one of a kind movie is bad. Let me begin the healing by telling the world that Hardcore Henry is an awesome movie.

I firmly believe that only a few people saw this back in 2015, trashed it and the lie just spread. I only remembered this movie because I had it confused with Mr. Payback (another movie that deserves an entire documentary) and since it is free on YouTube, in it’s entire 720p glory, my partner and I gave it a watch.

It’s rad! It’s more than rad, its non-stop, action-packed and (to my complete surprise) very funny. It’s got squibs, tits, cocaine and ludicrous violence framed in a threadbare -but complete- plot that is only interested in showing the audience all of those things all of the time. At no point did I have any idea what would happen next and that’s a rare experience today. I had a smile on my face the entire movie, my laughter a mix between shocked gasps and genuine guffaws at trashy bits of humor.

Also, I need to be clear, my love for this movie is not ironic nor do I have a “it’s so bad it’s good” take. Fuck what you heard, Hardcore Henry is a great action movie.

Reading

I’m about 200 pages into it and I am having dreams about Infinite Jest. It’s a puzzle-book and you can see the direct effect on books like House of Leaves. There has been a couple “aha!” moments that have me really hooked and the emerging central mystery is intriguing.

Listening

Ragana, a two piece -self described- queer esoteric sentimental doom band just released their latest album Desolation’s Flower, just in time for Halloween. I’m still listening over Desolation’s Flower and need a few more runs before I give my final take.

BUT! If you don’t know, their album YOU TAKE NOTHING is my favorite album of 2017 and probably in my top 5 albums of all time.

It’s sad, it’s angry and it’s empowering. Perfect music for the cold nights ahead.

Other Items

I would DIE for Mr. Bubz and I think that’s just how he wants it.

He loves with so much hate.